“I Can Make That Myself”: Dishwasher Detergent

Several of my friends (including Kristina) have tried making their own laundry detergent. Hearing their descriptions of how cheap and easy it is has placed making my own laundry detergent on my list of things to try this summer (once I finish off the bottle of detergent I currently have).

In the meantime, though, the house we  moved into has a dishwasher (which I have come to appreciate far more than I expected). When the sink leaked, soaking the box of dishwasher detergent that we found in the cupboard when we moved in, I started to wonder whether I could make that myself as well. Some research online quickly revealed that I could.

I found one article that compared six different recipes for powdered dishwasher detergent, which I found helpful. Based on that article, I chose the following recipe:

Homemade Dishwasher Detergent

IMG_8145

1 cup borax
1 cup washing soda
½ cup kosher salt
5 packets unsweetened lemonade mix

Mix all ingredients and store in a tightly sealed jar. Use 1 tablespoon per load, or 2 tablespoons for extra-dirty dishes. Makes 42 loads.

Cost: 2 cents per load
IMG_8151 IMG_8913

The verdict? It was super easy to make (it only took a couple minutes to measure the ingredients and mix them together) and seems to clean our dishes well so far. My own issue has been with the citric acid in the lemonade mix making it clump over time (which you can see a bit in the second photo above), which a few of the recipes I found had warned that it might. So far its still been usable, but I may look into some solutions for that with the next batch I make.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. “I Can Make That Myself”: Laundry Detergent | The Lord's Housekeeper

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

