Dreaming of Spring and Love

IMG_6906

This past week February arrived in a flurry of ice and snow. While I appreciated the snow days the blizzard brought, I have reached the point in winter where I start dreaming wistfully of spring and looking for ways to add some bright colors (yellow in particular) to the house.

Valentine’s Day is also coming up this week. While I understand that some people really hate Valentine’s Day, complaining that it was created by Hallmark for the sake of consumerism, or that it highlights some people’s loneliness in painful ways, or that it tries to cram romance into a single day rather than spreading it out throughout the year like good relationships should, I have always loved the idea of taking a day to intentionally celebrate those you love (including friends and family as much as significant others). Every year I try to find little ways to celebrate the day, whether with special treats in the morning or handmade cards for friends and family.

So last night, wrapped in a sweater with snow piled high outside, I made this simple, cheerful heart garland to hang above our front window.

IMG_6909 IMG_6917

I began by cutting a whole stack of hearts out of old magazine pages, specifically choosing pages that featured warm yellows, oranges, and pinks, as well as bright florals. I interspersed these with hearts cut from the old hymnal I bought at the thrift store two Christmases ago, arranging them in a long line on the table to alternate the colors and patterns the way I wanted.

Then I sewed them all together, adding hearts from the stack as I went along.

It was so easy! Once the hearts were cut out, the sewing part took less than ten minutes. I foresee more sewn garlands coming up in my future…

IMG_6901

(P.S. It looks pretty great with my homemade curtains — which I still love)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Wendy Kennedy

     /  February 8, 2014

    I love it!!! You are so inspiring…… (I spent my last couple days crunching numbers for taxes & FAFSA’s. Yours sounds oh so much more fun!)

    Reply
  2. Very pretty! Happy Valentine’s Day!

    Reply
  3. Ooooo so pretty :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

