Windows to My Soul

They say dreams are the windows of the soul–take a peek and you can see the inner workings, the nuts and bolts. – Henry Bromel

The other day Derek and I were talking about the dreams we have for our family (a good thing to do periodically) so I thought I’d share some of the dreams on my heart. Some of these I’ve found already, but some are hopes for the future (in no particular order):

– I dream of making a home for our family and opening wide the doors to share it.

– I dream of a big house, with room for lots of people to gather, and a guest room for visitors. I dream of a welcoming home.

– I dream of a spacious kitchen where I can cook and can and talk with lots of people (it’s not so much about the food as it is about the fellowship).

– I dream of a garden – preferably a community garden where I can work alongside friends and neighbors – and local farmers markets in the summer.

– I dream of an endless pot of coffee to share with visitors (of whom there will be many), along with fresh baked bread and a pot of soup simmering on the stove in the winter and fresh fruits and vegetables from the aforementioned garden in the summer.

– I dream of a prayer room open al the time, where I can invite people to come and meet with this amazing God I know.

– I dream of quiet times with God in the soft morning light. I dream of a quiet corner in our home – and our lives – set aside to meet with Him.

– I dream of kids to fill our big house. I dream of our own kids, but also foster kids and adopted kids, and neighborhood kids coming to us and finding love and acceptance.

– I dream of our lives lived as ministry, loving the least of these, the unlovable, the broken and orphaned.

– I dream of friends within walking distance so I can run over and visit and they can spontaneously visit us.

– I dream of friends who will cook with me and make things with me, friends who love to use their hands creatively to make something of what is on hand, to draw beauty out of everyday, seemingly ordinary things, to transform the old and make it new. I dream of friends who share my desire to see this same reality in the spirit, too, who long to see lives transformed and made new.

– I dream of a community of people who gather together to pray for and with each other, sharing their joys and sorrows, triumphs and weaknesses. I dream of a community that worships together and reads God’s word and who actively encourages and challenges each other in the Lord (I don’t care so much about titles, but I suppose you could say I dream of a house church).

– I dream of a community that shares time and resources to make sure everyone has what they need.

– I dream of a place that draws together all people, all races, ages, social classes, denominations, all drawn together by the love of God.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Jenelle

     /  March 2, 2010

    It sounds like we have many similar dreams. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and commenting, sister. Bless you.

    Reply
  2. Anna Marouf

     /  February 2, 2011

    That’s really beautiful Becca, I can close my eyes and imagine it. What a beautiful message of Christ’s love that dream portrays.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

