Rooted and Grounded in Love

Derek and I just finished listening to a message from Mike Bickle on Ephesians 3:14-19 (we listened to it streamed live but I’ll try to post a link if I can).

“For this reason I kneel before the Father, from whom every family in heaven and on earth is named, that he may grant you in accord with the riches of his glory to be strengthened with power through his Spirit in the inner self, and that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith; that you, rooted and grounded in love, may have strength to comprehend with all the holy ones what is the breadth and length and height and depth, and to know the love of Christ that surpasses knowledge, so that you may be filled with the fullness of God.” – Ephesians 3:14-19

He talked specifically about being rooted and grounded in God’s love for us. It felt like a continuation of the word God was speaking to me a week ago about the importance of knowing that I am beloved in my ordinary life, and of the message last Sunday evening at the Boiler Room about God’s original plan for us and our well-being (Jean spoke about that passage in Ephesians then, too, as she taught about the foundations for our sense of being and well being — you should be able to hear the whole message here).

I’m struck by the importance of this, the importance of being rooted and grounded in God’s love. Mike talked about how many people never walk in the calling that God has for them because they are so bogged down in the emotional traffic of their relationship with others, and that they’re bogged down by this because they aren’t yet rooted and grounded in love. That rooting and grounding is foundational, not just for our life with God but for the way we relate to everyone around us. It is foundational for parenting, for marriage, for friendships, for ministry. Until we feel secure in God’s love, in the way He sees us, we’ll continue to strive to earn that from Him and others. I’m struck by how all my dreams of who I want to be, what I want to do– my dreams of ministry, motherhood, community — rest on this foundation, a foundation that’s still very much faulty and cracked yet.

I want this. I want to be rooted and grounded in God’s love. In fact, I know that I need this. This season of transition (the transition to being a wife along with the transition now to Kansas City) seems to be bringing this need to the surface like never before. I need this revelation to be real and deep in my life. I need God to unfold the revelation of His love in my life to a new fullness so that it defines the way I live and interact.

I want this foundation in my life. I want to be rooted and grounded in His love.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

