Change in a Moment

Today was my last day of work (well, besides going in for a couple hours tomorrow to finish packing up my classroom). I had hoped for a summer job (we were told for the past several months that we would have one) but found out yesterday that I won’t have a job for the summer, that in fact my boss never even turned in my name.

Tonight Derek received an e-mail (yes, an e-mail) from his boss saying that he was being laid off, effective immediately. No explanation.

Needless to say, I feel a bit like the floor just dropped out from under me.

But at the same time, I’m overwhelmed with a sense that God is doing something, that it’s not coincidence that both our jobs ended on the same day. I’ll be honest, I don’t really have a clue what He’s doing, but I feel strangely at peace (even in my fear) that He has a plan in this and it’s going to be okay.

I feel like there are so many thoughts swirling around in my head but I can’t even begin to string them together right now. Maybe later. But for now, here is a piece of Psalm 37. God was encouraging me with this Psalm this morning as I wrestled through all the emotions from my job situation and I feel like He is doubly encouraging me with it again tonight:

“The Lord watches over the days of the blameless;
their heritage lasts forever.
They will not be disgraced when times are hard;
in days of famine they will have plenty.

Neither in my youth, nor now in old age
have I ever seen the just abandoned
or their children begging bread.,
The just always lend generously,
and their children become a blessing.

Wait eagerly for the Lord
and keep to the way;
God will raise you to possess the land.”

— Psalm 37:18-19,25-26,34

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

