Fresh Vegetable Pizza with Pesto

I know I’ve been posting a lot about vegetables/food recently, but with garden and farmer’s market season here, I’m enjoying the abundance of amazing, fresh food.

A friend shared some fresh basil from her garden this week, so I was able to make pesto and, consequently, this pizza. It’s definitely one of my favorite ways to make pizza, so I thought I’d share the recipe:

Fresh Vegetable Pizza with Pesto

Crust:
(I used a thin crust recipe from this site)

.25 oz. package of active dry yeast
1/4 tsp. sugar
3/4 c. warm (110 degree) water
1 3/4 c. all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp. salt

Pesto:
(adapted from this recipe)

2 c. fresh basil leaves
1/2 c. Parmesan cheese
1/2 c. extra virgin olive oil
1/3 c. pine nuts or walnuts (I left these out….because we didn’t have any)
3 garlic cloves, minced
salt and pepper to taste

Toppings:

3-4 fresh tomatoes (I used Roma tomatoes)
1 c. shredded zucchini
1 c. shredded cheese (or more or less, depending on your preference. I used a combination of white Mexican cheeses and Parmesan cheese)
(in the past I have also added other vegetables, including shredded carrots, chopped spinach, and mushrooms. You can pretty much put on whatever vegetables you like or currently have handy)

1) Preheat the oven to 500 degrees.

2) For the crust, disolve the yeast and sugar in the warm water and let rest for 8 minute. Meanwhile, in a separate bowl, combine the flour and salt. Pour the yeast mixture over the flour mixture and stir well. Turn the dough onto a floured surface and knead for about two minutes, adding more flour if necessary (I found that I had to add quite a bit more flour because it was pretty sticky). Working from the edges to the center, press the dough into a 12″ circle. Place on a lightly greased pizza pan and stretch it to the edges. Bake for 5-7 minutes.

3) For the pesto, combine all pesto ingredients in the food processor and pulse until finely blended (the original recipe said that if you use walnuts, pulse them first before adding the basil and other ingredients, but because I didn’t use any kind of nut I didn’t do this). Spread over the pre-baked crust

4) Thinly slice the tomatoes and lay them over the pesto. Top with the zucchini and any other vegetables you want to use. Finally, sprinkle with cheese.

5) Bake for 5-10 minutes or until cheese is melted and bubbly and the edges of the crust are lightly browned. Enjoy!

P.S. Yesterday I applied to work at a local bistro that serves organic, sustainable, locally grown food. How amazing does that sound, huh?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. that would be a perfect job for you, i suspect. i hope you’ll get it.
    i am enjoying your gardening and cooking blog entries. don’t be apologetic about them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

