Nothing Wasted, Part 2

This isn’t exactly current (I made this last week and it’s long since been eaten), but I thought I’d post another recipe for carrot tops. I still have more greens left, so there may be a Part 3 coming…

Carrot Green and Walnut Pesto:

(modified from a recipe for Carrot Green, Parsley & Hazelnut Pesto)

Ingredients:

3/4 cup walnuts
1/4 cup carrot leaves, chopped
1 clove garlic
Juice of 1 lemon (I just guessed at the amount)
1/4 -1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
1/2 cup fresh-grated Parmesan cheese
Salt to taste

Directions:

Toast the nuts at 325ºF for a few minutes to bring out the flavor. In a food processor, puree the nuts, carrot leaves, lemon juice and garlic. Pour in cheese, salt, and olive oil, starting with 1/4 cup. Blend, and increase olive oil if the pesto is too thick.

The recipe suggests serving it over pasta, which I’m sure would be good. I used it to make veggie wraps (with fresh greens from the garden!) and ate the leftovers on homemade wheat bread. It makes me want to experiment with other pesto combinations.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

