“Good Thing I Love You”

That was Derek’s response to dinner tonight :-P.

We’re on day four of eating zucchini from the garden and I thought I’d try something a little different: making a sauce out of the zucchini. Chicken with curried zucchini sauce over polenta, to be exact (I was feeling creative).  My mom has a recipe for zucchini soup with curry that she made when I was growing up, so I based the sauce on that a little bit. It smelled great but to be honest, it looked….well….like a dog vomited on the plate.

See? At least we have fresh blueberries for dessert….

So, instead of sharing the recipe for tonight’s dinner (you know, in case you wanted to duplicate it….), here’s the recipe for zucchini bread that I made on Tuesday (which tasted AND looked good):

Pumpkin Zucchini Bread

Ingredients:

3 eggs
1 c. canned pumpkin
1/4 c. oil
1 c. sugar
2 c. grated zucchini
2 tsp. vanilla extract
2 c. all-purpose flour
1 c. whole wheat flour
3 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. nutmeg
1 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
1/2 chopped walnuts

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Grease and flour two 8×4 inch loaf pans. In a large bowl, beat eggs until light and frothy. Mix in the pumpkin, oil, and sugar. Stir in zucchini and vanilla. Combine flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda, baking powder, salt and walnuts; stir into the egg mixture. Divide batter into prepared pans. Bake for 60 minutes or until done.

(The good news? I gave away three zucchinis today!)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. denita

     /  July 9, 2010

    what is polenta?

    Reply
    • It’s basically boiled cornmeal. I guess it’s really popular (more so than pasta even) in some parts of Italy. You can eat it softer like this, or you can let it harden up (the starch in the cornmeal makes it kind of gel together) and then slice it. You can fry, broil, or grill the slices. This was my first time making it as part of a main dish (I’ve made it for breakfast before, but this was a little different). I may need to play around with it some more….

      Reply
  1. Cooking Redemption « Thelordshousekeeper's Blog

Leave a Reply

