Cooking Redemption

The zucchini and cucumbers just keep coming. This was all from one day! I’m bringing a load of them to the Boiler Room tomorrow night to give to people. And I think I’m going to try to make pickles this week….

But in the meantime, we’re still eating zucchini almost daily (we went a day without it, but only because Derek suggested we go out to eat…ha!). Tonight I brought the polenta and zucchinis out again and tried another combination. I think it turned out well this time (much better than the vomit-looking version) and Derek liked it too.  So, here’s a zucchini and polenta dish, take 2:

Polenta with Garden Vegetables

Ingredients:

For the polenta:
6 c. water
1 1/2 c. cornmeal
2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. thyme
1/2 c. Parmesan cheese
2 Tbsp. olive oil

For the sauce:
1 pint tomato sauce (I used a jar I canned with Stacey last summer!)
1 c. zucchini, diced
1 tsp. sugar
Italian seasoning, to taste
Salt, to taste

Directions:

For the polenta:
Bring the water and salt to a boil. Very gradually, whisk in the cornmeal (if you don’t do it gradually, you get lumps…trust me, I’ve done it…). Reduce heat and simmer for 20-30 minutes, stirring often, until thick. Stir in the thyme, Parmesan cheese, and oil. Spread in an oiled loaf pan and refigerate overnight.

Slice the polenta into 1/4 in. slices. Saute in a frying pan with a little bit of oil (I used about a tablespoon) until brown on both sides. Set aside.

For the sauce:
While the polenta is cooking, simmer together all the sauce ingredients. Serve over the polenta slices. If desired, top with Parmesan cheese.

What do you think? Does this make up for the zucchini and polenta cooking catastrophe the other night?

(p.s. I also cooked green beans from our garden! Yes!)

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. jolie

     /  July 13, 2010

    This looks delicious! I’ve never had polenta. You are inspiring me to put up some recipes :)

    Reply
    • It was pretty tasty :-) (though what doesn’t taste good if you fry it in some oil, right?). And I hadn’t made polenta before either. It took a little while, but was pretty easy. I want to experiment with it some more. It’s nice to have a variety of starches to work with besides the usual rice and pasta

      Reply
  2. I happen to love polenta…but I havens seen it in strips like that before. Looks good and great job on photos.

    Reply
    • Haha…thanks! I hadn’t either. I actually liked it in the strips like that. Just in a glob was a little odd, but maybe just because of the vomit-like sauce :-P

      Reply

Leave a Reply

