Though My Flesh and Heart Fail

For some reason all sorts of hurts, tensions, and anxieties are pressing on my heart this morning, some from things in the past not fully dealt with yet, some from ridiculous little things (should I take this housekeeping job? Should I try to work out getting paint from this lady on craigslist?). It feels like a rolling ocean of transitions and emotions and questions that I can’t keep up with. So I’m sitting with the words of Psalm 73 and seeking the sanctuary of the Lord:

“Since my heart was embittered
and my soul deeply wounded,
I was stupid and could not understand;
I was like a brute beast in your presence.
Yet I am always with you;
you take hold of my right hand.
With your counsel you guide me,
and at the end receive me with honor.
Whom else have I in the heavens?
None beside you delights me on earth.
Though my flesh and heart fail,
God is the rock of my heart, my portion forever.
But those who are far from you perish;
you destroy those unfaithful to you.
As for me, to be near God is my good,
to make the Lord God my refuge.
I shall declare all your works
in the gates of daughter Zion.” (Psalm 73:21-28)

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. BECCA I THINK IT IS AMAZING WHAT GOD IS DOING WITH YOU AND DEREK.ILOVE SLL OF YOUR POST AND WE MISS YOU GUYS.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

