Beautiful Things Out of the Dust

“Beautiful Things” – Gungor

All this pain
I wonder if I’ll ever find my way?
I wonder if my life could really change at all?
All this earth
Could all that is lost ever be found?
Could a garden come up from this ground at all?

You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of the dust
You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of us

All around
Hope is springing up from this old ground
Out of chaos life is being found in You

You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of the dust
You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of us

Oh, you make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of the dust
You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of us

You make me new, You are making me new
You make me new, You are making me new
Making me new

You make beautiful things
(You make me new)
You make beautiful things out of the dust
(You are making me new, making me new)

You make beautiful things
(You make me new)
You make beautiful things out of us
(You are making me new, making me new)

Oh, you make beautiful things
(You make me new)
You make beautiful things out of the dust
(You are making me new, making me new)

You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of the dust

You make me new, You are making me new
You make me new, You are making me new

(Listen to the song here)

This has become one of my favorite songs since we first sang it in the Boiler Room a few months ago. It’s a declaration of hope. And it’s so true. God does make beautiful things out of the dust. He is making beautiful things out of us. I see this over and over, particularly in my own heart lately.

These past four years or so I’ve cycled through so many seasons in my life, both exhilaratingly profound and heart-wrenchingly painful (sometimes both at the same time). I’ve watched things fall aside and fall apart in my life. Communities that surge together in joyful anticipation of God’s work among us, only to scatter. Young believers rejoiced over and drawn into life, who have slipped back into old lifestyles again. Friendships gone awry or simply faded away. Each and every time I wrestle with the disintegrating of relationships I valued so much and spent so much time cultivating.

And yet, I’m discovering that these experiences have become like compost for my soul, the bits of experiences disintegrating over time (and yes, sometimes stinking in the process) until they settle into a layer of good soil in my life that wasn’t there before. Though sometimes it feels like chaos, a scramble to make sense of the transitions and situations, and often it feels fruitless, I’m beginning to see new life springing forth, fresh shoots of green pushing their way through the jumble of experiences and losses that somehow became that good soil. Good, rich soil can begin to bear fruit.

In particular I’m finding faith springing up all over my life in a measure that was never there before. Faith that I am loved, that I am provided for, that I am called, that I am able (or rather, that He is able), that His redemption is a reality we can experience, that His plans are beyond what I ever hoped or imagined, that His promises are sure.

Thank You, Abba, that you do make beautiful things out of the dust, that in Your faithfulness and love, nothing is wasted and You use all these things to create good soil for us to grow more fruitful in You.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Gungor in Concert « The Lord's Housekeeper

Leave a Reply

