Snow Day Pancakes

In honor of my THIRD snow day in a row (which means five days off in a row, plus the four day weekend coming up — pretty ridiculous), I thought I’d post my favorite pancake recipe, which I made to celebrate my first snow day. I think I may have posted a variation on this recipe before, but it’s worth posting again. I find myself using this as a base recipe over and over.

Snow Day Pancakes

Ingredients:
1 c. whole wheat flour
1/2 c. all purpose flour (I’ve also used all whole wheat before and that works, too)
1/2 c. cornmeal (I think this is the key for the yummy texture)
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
Cinnamon, nutmeg, or other spices to taste (optional — but I usually like to add some sort of spice; this time it was nutmeg)
2 eggs
2 c. milk
2 Tbsp. oil

Directions:
Mix the dry ingredients together in a large mixing bowl, then add the eggs, milk, and oil.  Stir together with a fork to break up the eggs. Pour on a preheated griddle and cook over medium heat until bubbles appear and the edges begin to look dry. Flip over and cook a few minutes longer or until golden brown. Top with your choice of toppings (I like warm applesauce and cinnamon or yogurt and honey; Derek likes butter and lots of maple syrup). Enjoy!

(You can vary this recipe by adding chopped fruit, nuts, or other spices. This time I added a couple tablespoons of leftover pumpkin to the second half of the batch and it turned out great. I’ve also made it with 1 1/2 c. cornmeal and 1/2 c. of flour and added garlic and Cajun spices to make a savory pancake before, too, and topped them with tomatoes and beans. I’d love to hear what variations you use….)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. You can never go wrong with pancakes. Looks delicious!

    Reply
  2. we’re on our third snow day here in georgia too! kinda crazy. too bad i don’t have all the ingredients for your snow day pancakes – they sound delicious!

    Reply
  3. I totally agree that cornmeal is key to great pancakes :) This is our standard Saturday morning breakfast. I wish we had some snow days. . .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

