Breaking into Spring

As of 5:30 p.m. on Friday night, I have been on spring break, not just from school but also from work (both spring breaks happened to fall on the same week).

Saturday morning I started my break with a big breakfast, hosted by Justin Andrews. We ate delicious food, talked, and laughed. Then we meandered over to Anna’s going-away garage sale where I picked up a new bag (after straining under the weight of school books and notebooks for seven months, my old one finally snapped this week), a garlic press (hallelujah!), and an armful of beautiful fabrics.

From there Derek and I rode down to the library where I perused the shelves for some fiction to read (I find it so hard to find good fiction sometimes). Then we packed a picnic dinner and spent the evening at Loose Park, sitting under a budding apple tree. We ended the night with a movie (the second Jurassic park, if you must know; I’d never seen it and spent a decent percentage of it calling advice to the characters and gripping Derek’s arm).

On my list for the rest of this week off:

  • Go to the Kansas City Community Garden’s office and sign up for a membership.
  • Start our garden. I confirmed with the landlord this week that it’s still okay for us to plant one and posted a flyer by the mailboxes today inviting the neighbors to join me. My goal is to get the plot tilled and a temporary fence (to keep out animals — especially the neighbor’s dog) this week.
  • Start (and perhaps even finish) my observations for my child development case study (yes, I do plan on doing homework this week unfortunately).
  • Begin researching Reggio Emilio for my curriculum comparison project (and decide on my second curriculum focus).
  • Begin research for my program spotlight project.
  • Finish research for my risk factor project and write the paper.
  • Write eight activity plans for my curriculum class.
  • Write four activity plans for my internship class.
  • Set up my observations at Plaza de Ninos.
  • Finish reading, reviews, and application activities for my health, safety, and nutrition class.
  • Read fiction
  • Spend time outside (it’s supposed to be sunny and in the 70s for the first few days this week)
  • Catch up on letter writing (I have at least five that I’ve been meaning to write)
  • Make something creative (perhaps that toilet paper role wall hanging? Or some flowery branches for our dining room?)
  • Write a blog or two (maybe. No promises…)
  • Do laundry (and all that everyday stuff that still needs to happen).

Actually, now that I look at that list, I have quite a bit of homework to do. Ugh. But even so, I plan to spend time relaxing and enjoying break, too.

Unfortunately, my body seems to have it’s own plan of being sick this week….

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. teresa

     /  March 12, 2012

    It’s so energizing to be able to spend time outdoors. I hope the weather cooperates with your time off! Your photos are so lovely. Good fiction is truly a hard thing to find. What did you end up with?

    Hope you find time to relax and enjoy some time off. Sounds like you do have a lot of school work to do, but maybe you will be able to do it outdoors? I’m also interested in your garden project. So great that you are offering for it to be a neighborhood project! I can’t wait to get started on ours!

    Reply
    • I picked up “House Rules” by Jodi Piccoult (everything I have read from her so far has been gripping and though-provoking) and I almost finished it in one day. Then I picked up a historical fiction novel set during the revolutionary war and a book by Judith Pella, who I remember reading something from years ago. I haven’t started either of those yet, so we’ll see how they are :-).

      I have done some reading outdoors, but a lot of what I need to do involves research which means computer time, but I’ve spent quite a bit of time outside in between.

      Reply
  2. I love Derek’s pipe – is it just for show?
    We need to skype soon! I´m excited to hear about how school is going, among the rest of life.

    Reply
    • Nope, his pipe is the real deal. It’s just hard to get a good picture of smoke (I have one where it looks like smoke is coming out his ears and another that looks like he has a long white mustache).

      Skyping sounds good. With spring break I’m a little more open. Let me know when you’re free!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

