Peanut Butter Banana Bread

Confession: I tend to buy bananas, knowing that at least few of them will get brown before we eat them, just so I have an excuse to make banana bread.

This time I used several of them to make sugar-free, dairy-free ice cream (recipe below), so I just had two left. My usual banana bread calls for 3-4 bananas and I was out of applesauce (which I sometimes use to make up for some of the bananas). Not to be deterred, I decided to substitute peanut butter for the other banana. This was the result:

Peanut Butter Banana Bread

Ingredients:
2 ripe bananas
1/2 c. peanut butter
1/3 c. melted butter
1/2 c. sugar
1 egg, beaten
1 tsp. vanilla
1 tsp. baking soda
Pinch of salt
1 1/2 c, flour (I used 1 c. whole wheat and 1/2 c. all purpose)

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 F. Mash the bananas in a large mixing bowl. Add the melted butter, peanut butter, sugar, egg, and vanilla and mix well. Sprinkle the salt and baking soda on top and stir in. Finally stir in the flour. Spoon the batter into a greased bread pan and bake for 30-45 minutes or until browned.

Or, for another delicious banana/peanut butter combination, try this “ice cream” recipe that Lindsay passed on to me this spring (it’s naturally sugar-free and dairy-free):

Banana Peanut Butter Soft Serve “Ice Cream”

Ingredients:
2-3 ripe bananas, frozen (thawed slightly)
1/3 c. peanut butter
1/4 c. cocoa powder
1 tsp. vanilla

Directions:
Combine all ingredients in the food processor (to be honest, I don’t measure exactly so these are just guesses) and process on high until creamy. Eat immediately (as if you could resist this long anyway).

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Peanut butter and banana is always a great combination. Your loaf looks divine, wish I had a slice right now.

    Reply
    • It is a good combination! I had some for breakfast this morning :-).

      It’s pretty moist but I think next time I’d add another banana, too, along with the peanut butter, to make it even more moist.

      Reply
  2. Looks amazing I want some :)

    Reply
  3. Sounds good. I don’t eat bananas, but Jamie does. I am never upset when I see she has not gotten around to a couple of them in time, because that means I’m eating banana bread.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

