The Here and the Now

Though I have been pretty silent here again lately, I have not been completely absent from the blog world. For the past few couple weeks I have been working on launching a photo project with some friends back in Toledo.

I have been mulling over the idea of taking on a photo challenge for several years now. The idea first began to grow when a blog friend, Brooke, launched her “A Year of [Newly-Wedded] Mornings” project, chronicling her first year of marriage with a photo each morning. The photos were lovely, simple glimpses into the quiet moments at the beginning of her days. She shared that she was inspired by another blog started by two friends living on opposite coasts who shared a photo each morning (they later did an evening project as well and now are in the middle of a weekend project). I liked the idea of challenging myself to see and capture beauty every day, but I also loved the idea of using this as a tool to maintain and strengthen friendships over distance. When we moved over 700 miles away from most of our friends and family, the idea grew even more appealing. I wrestled with the limitations of my point-and-shoot camera at the time, though, and so set aside the idea for a while.

When I bought my new camera, though, I resurrected the idea and shared it with some good friends back in Toledo who, along with sharing a passion for community, creativity, and adoption, also love photography. Together we brainstormed ideas and put together the blog, deciding to focus on the beauty of each season. We’re three weeks into the project now and have finally worked out the formatting glitches.

And so, without further ado, I’d like to present….

(Click the picture to go to the blog)

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. love it! I’ll be following. :)

    Reply
  2. so fun! i love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

