Photo Collage

This branch of fabric leaves has hung in our dining room for the past year or so that we have lived in this apartment. I hung them last fall, loving the burst of color they added to the room. And then I just never replaced them (mostly because I never got around to making something to hang there instead and hated the idea of leaving the frame empty). The other day I saw this pin on pinterest, though, and finally got inspired.

I chose some of my favorite photos to print. This afternoon I lay them out across our sunroom floor, arranging them inside the frame until I was happy with the arrangement. I hammered tacks into the side of the frame, stringing thin wire between them, and then clipped the photos to the wire with clothespins.

The finished product is less rustic than the inspiration photo, but I like it. It’s nice to have something different hanging there now. And the photos remind me of beautiful things every day.

In other house decorating news….this weekend I succumbed to the pumpkin craze and bought two for our living room.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Mama

     /  October 17, 2012

    I love it, Becca!

    Reply
  2. offshore corporation

     /  October 20, 2012

    I was inspired by something I saw on Pinterest ( here’s the blog post ), but that version was way too complicated. Mine is an old glassless frame I pulled out of someone’s trash, a few pieces of ribbon I found in my craft box and some wooden clothespins left over from the nursery makeover. I used teeny tiny nails to secure the ribbon to the back of the frame and hung up pictures I got for free from Shutterfly during their mother’s day sale. Total cost: $3.17 for the shipping on the prints. It’s super easy to switch out the pics and I could totally change the mood of the board by using all fall pictures or all black and white pictures or all close-ups. I can also use it to display Caroline’s monthday photos all at once for her first birthday.

    Reply
    • I like the idea of using ribbon for something like this and I bet the tiny clothespins worked lots better (the normal sized ones were a little awkward to work with, though ended up still looking okay). I do like how easy it is to change up the pictures to fit the season, mood, colors of the room, special occasions, or anything else.

      Reply
  3. silver account

     /  November 10, 2012

    Thread the wire through the hole on one side. On the outer side of the frame, thread a wooden bead onto the wire, then thread back through the hole in the frame. Pull tight and wrap the end of the wire around the taut wire several times. Trim. Repeat for the other side and pull the wire as taut as possible before securing it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

