Birthday Beauty

This weekend I celebrated my twenty-fifth birthday.

To be honest, in recent years my birthday has carried a certain sting of heartache. That one day somehow tends to magnify any already-present feelings of being unseen and uncelebrated, perhaps because I have seen some amazing birthday celebrations here that embrace all the unique ways that a person reflects the Lord’s heart.

So this year I approached my birthday with some tentativeness, trying to guard my heart by not expecting much. But lately God has been taking me on a journey of discovering that He never designed me to protect myself or to live in lack. Throughout the weekend, He wove that truth all through dozens of small celebrations of the things I love:

– A sunny fall day
– Brilliantly colored trees
– Dinner with Derek
– A double portion of one of my favorite foods
– A small gathering of friends
– A house full of candlelight
– Words of blessing spoken over me
– A lovely scarf, full of deep rich colors
– Fresh flowers in reds, yellows, and oranges
– Apple cider
– Dancing with one of my favorite little girls
– A baby in my arms
– A few thoughtfully written notes
– A tiny succulent plant, wrapped in yellow
– A fragrant heart
– A phone call with my mom

All of which crooned the Father’s love over my heart: “You are seen. You are loved. You are beautiful. It is good that you exist.”

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Denita

     /  October 22, 2012

    I’m glad you had a great birthday weekend! You deserve nothing less. You are a beautiful woman of God and I am blessed that I was able to meet you. You always made me feel welcome, in a place I was not completely comfortable. The ability to make someone feel at ease, is a wonderful gift.

    Reply
    • Aw, thank you! That means a lot. And you were always welcome :-). I miss seeing you around and hope you are doing well!

      Reply
      • Denita

         /  October 29, 2012

        I’m doing alright, married life has definitely changed what my life looks like anymore…I’ve never watched so many sporting events in my life…and I was a cheerleader in jr. high and high school to give some perspective. Still seeking balance…from what my single life was and what I enjoyed and needed and what married life and compromise brings. But, I am well.

      • Haha, I bet! You do seem to post a lot of sporting pictures :-). Finding balance is challenging with that kind of transition, but definitely good to have if you can find it. I’m glad you’re well :-)

  2. What a beautiful post! I can relate to your feelings exactly and can also agree with you that God does not intend for us to live guarded lives…he means for us to dance and sing and celebrate, even if only in His presence<3

    Reply
    • Agreed, though I think that once we learn to dance and sing in His presence, that overflows to the rest of our life, too.

      Thanks for finding your way to my blog!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

