Gungor in Concert

This evening we drove out to Lenexa with some friends to see Gungor in concert.

I’m generally not a big fan of concerts – they tend to be an overwhelming mix of big crowds, head-throbbing noise levels, and flashing lights. This one was so good, though (flashing lights and all). Song after song I found myself catching my breath, at the edge of my seat, as they skillfully wove together sweet harmonies and poetic lyrics. They alternated between energetic beats and soft melodies, mixing the light notes of a xylophone with heavy drumbeats, amazing guitar picking with smooth cello, soft piano with resonating voices.

Each of their songs rang with the deep beauty of the gospel. I remember first hearing of Gungor when we sang their song, “Beautiful Things,” at the Boiler Room but only recently began listening to a bit more of their music. Their songs speak eloquently of the God who brings life out of death and beauty out of brokenness, who longs to see His beautiful bride, the Church, become who she was created to be. As I am learning to walk with the Lord through the places of my own pain and loss, these songs touch on the beauty of that process. They acknowledge the pain, even the disillusionment, but remind me that the story does not end there, that at the cross Love has already won.

“Dry Bones”
by Gungor

my soul cries out
my soul cries out for you

these bones cry out
these dry bones cry for you
to live and move
only You
can raise the dead
lift my head up

Jesus, You’re the one who saves us
Constantly creates us into something new
Jesus You’re the one who finds us
Surely our Messiah will make all things new

(From their album, Beautiful Things)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

